Power to withstand and be transformed

July 30, 2008

The past two weeks have been very difficult for me and my family.   July 20th was the anniversary of Cadence’s death, July 25th was the anniversary of her funeral, and July 29th would have been her 2nd birthday.   Even though we’ve had the birth of a new grandson to temper the pain and grief, I’ve had my moments.  Having Drew join our family has given us great joy; however,  sometimes it’s easy to ask why or what’s the purpose for all this pain.  2 Corinthians 1:4 states, “who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.” NIV What a blessing it is to be comforted by God.  What a privilege it is for Him to use me to comfort others.   God is transforming me into His instrument of comfort and hope.  Why would I want to thwart that?  The grief is hard but the rewards of being His instrument so far outweigh the pain.  My prayer is that I will be malleable so that God can change me and use me.

Leave a comment